Home NewsGeneral News True Federalism, Devolution of Powers dominate Southern State Governors Summit

True Federalism, Devolution of Powers dominate Southern State Governors Summit

by ondoevents
0 comment

The first meeting of Governors of Southern States of Nigeria in twelve years has ended in Lagos with resolutions on key national issues.

The Governors unanimously restated their commitments to a united and indivisible Nigeria, called for true federalism and devolution of powers to states in Nigeria.

The Governors, in a communique at the end of their summit read by the host Governor, Mr. Akinwunmi Ambode resolved to collaborate with one another for the growth and development of the economies of States in Southern Nigeria.

“The summit also reiterated its belief in true federalism and devolution of powers.

It restated its commitment to collaborate  with one another for the growth and development of their economies”, the governors said.

On security and infrastructural development for the well-being of residents of their respective states, the governors unequivocally stated their commitments.

“The summit emphasized priority on security of lives and properties of its citizens.

The summit also emphasized the need for effective linkage on good infrastructure within the space of Southern Nigeria”, the governors stated.

On the future of the forum, the Governor of Lagos, Mr Akinwumi Ambode was announced as its unanimous Chairman, while the Bayelsa State Governor, Mr Seriake Dickson and his counterpart from Ebonyi State, Mr David Umahi would serve as co-chairmen.

Ondo State Governor, Arakunrin Oluwarotimi Akeredolu, SAN, has consistently spoken in support of  true federalism, unity of Nigeria and unrelentingly called for categorical issues rather making a vague demands for restructuring.

Governor Akeredolu joined the host governor, Mr Akinwumi Ambode and the other governors in the States of Southern Nigeria to present the communique to newsmen at the Lagos State Government House, Alausa in Ikeja.

The other governors who attended the meeting are: Ogun State, Senator Ibikunle Amosun; Oyo State, Senator Abiola Ajimobi; Osun State, Ogbeni Rauf Aregbesola; Ebonyi State, David Umahi; Edo State, Mr. Godwin Obaseki; Abia State, Mr. Okezie Ikpeazu; Enugu State, Mr. Henry Ugwuanyi; Bayelsa State, Mr. Seriaki Dickson and Ekiti State, Mr. Ayodele Fayose.

Three  governors were represented by their deputies, they are: Cross River State, Mr. Evara Esu; Anambra State Dr. Ikem Okeke and Delta State, Mr. Kingsley Otuaru.

The Ondo State Governor, was accompanied by three of his cabinet members: the Secretary to the State Governor,  Hon. Ifedayo Abegunde; Attorney General and Commissioner for Justice, Adekola Olawoye, Esq and the Honourable Commissioner for Finance, Mr Wale Akinterinwa.

The next meeting of the governors would hold in Port- Harcourt, Rivers State on a date not yet announced.

You may also like

Leave a Comment