Home NewsOndo State News Ondo Assembly screens 13 commissioner nominees

Ondo Assembly screens 13 commissioner nominees

by ondoevents
0 comment

By Adekola Afolabi

The Selection and Screening Committee of the Ondo State House of Assembly yesterday continued the ongoing screening exercise of commissioner nominees with the screening of seven more nominees.

The screening of seven additional commissioner nominees brought to 13 the total number of commissioner nominees screened so far.

The Committee had on Monday successfully screened six out of the 18 commissioner nominees whose names were earlier forwarded to the House by the state Governor, Arakunrin Oluwarotimi Akeredolu, SAN, for confirmation.

The screening exercise started at exactly 1pm on Monday shortly after the House rose from the plenary sitting where it passed the 2017 OSOPADEC budget into law.

First to be screened was a former Speaker of the House, Rt. Hon Toafiq Abdulsalam, from Akoko North-East, followed by Mr Rasheed Badmus, Akoko North-West.

Others are Prince Solagbade Amodeni, Akoko South-East; Otunba Adegboyega Adefarati Akoko South-West; Mr Saka Yusuf Ogunleye, from  Akure  North and Dr. Wahab Adegbenro from Ifedore.

Speaking shortly after their screening, some of the nominees including Amodeni, Adegbenro and Badmus described the exercise as very thorough and successful.

They commended the lawmakers for their seriousness and commitment to legislative duties.

“You can see a House that is ready for business, you can see serious minded people, you can see a House devoid of politics, and you can see a united House,” Amodeni stressed.

At the resumed screening yesterday,  the  seven Commissioner nominees who were successfully screened included Mr. Yemi Olowolabi from Idanre; Mr. Femi Agagu from Okitipupa and Mrs. Omowumi Olatunji-Edet, Akure South.

Others are Mr Wale Akinterinwa, Ile-Oluji/Okeigbo; Mr Donald Ojogo, Ese-Odo; Mr Folorunsho Esan, from Ilaje and Mr Olurimisi Ismaila from Odigbo.

In separate interviews, all the screened commissioner nominees commended the members of the screening committee for their seriousness and transparency.

The screening exercise is expected to be rounded off today, Wednesday, with the screening of the remaining five Commissioner nominees.

They are Pastor Emmanuel Igbasan, Irele; Prof. Bayonle Ademodi from Ondo East; Mrs Lola Fagbemi, Ondo West; Otunba Timilehin Adelegbe, Ose and Mr Kola Olawoye Esq from Owo.

One of the Commissioner nominees, Mr. Yemi Olowolabi, described his experience with the committee as very exciting, adding that the committee was serious minded and did what was normal to move the state forward.

According to him, the way and manner the committee conducted the exercise attested to the fact  that the lawmakers were passionate and concerned about the development of the state.

Responding  on behalf of the Screening Committee, the Parliamentary Secretary, Hon. Jamiu Maito, disclosed that the  performances of the commissioner nominees clearly showed that they are capable of holding any portfolio that may be assigned to them by the Governor.

According to him, those screened so far displayed high sense of brilliance and competence.

The Hope

You may also like

Leave a Comment