The Report of a 5-man committee on the recovery of State Government Vehicles from Unauthorized Persons and Locations set up by the Ondo State Government has been submitted.

Presenting the report to the State Governor in his office in Akure, the Committee  Chairman, Prince Solagbade Amodeni, who is the State Commissioner for Physical Planning and Urban Development said 42 government vehicles were recovered from unauthorized persons including the political appointees of the immediate past administration and from locations outside the state.

The Chairman who informed the governor that in some cases, minimum force was employed to retrieve the vehicles said some of the vehicles were about to be sold off when the committee through intelligence report foil the plan.

“Our committee made three trips to Osogbo, the Osun State capital first to ascertain the authenticity of the chassis and engine numbers which all tallied with the particulars of the government vehicle being searched for.

“The second trip led to impounding the vehicle and the third was to tow the vehicle from Osogbo to Akure”, he said.

Prince Amodeni said in all,42 vehicles were recovered out of which 29 were serviceable, while 13 others were un-serviceable.

He added that efforts by the committee to recover the government vehicle with the former Special Adviser on Tourism to the immediate past Governor, Mr. Wale Akinboboye have not yielded results.

“He is still holding on to a government vehicle. The committee is still following up with a view to recovering the vehicle”, the Chairman said.

Accepting the report, the Ondo State Governor, Arakunrin Oluwarotimi Akeredolu, SAN, said it was unfortunate that some people appointed to serve in positions of responsibility could not be honourable enough to return government property in their custody at the end of their tenure.

The governor who thanked members of the committee for the efforts put into the assignment, assured that the recommendations contained in the report would be looked into, to prevent a repeat of such betrayal of trust and confidence.

The committee inaugurated on 19th May, 2017 has the followings as members: Prince Solagbade Amodeni, Chairman; Ahaji Jimoh Dojumo, Member; Alhaji Sikiru Yusuf, Member; Mr Odunayo Kolawole, Member and Mr Lawrence Akintunde, Secretary

Dignitaries at the report presentation include: the Deputy Governor, Hon Agboola Ajayi; Secretary to the State Government, Hon Ifedayo Abegunde; State Commissioner for Information and Orientation, Mr Yemi Olowolabi; State Commissioner for Works and Infrastructure, Rt Hon Taofik Abdussalam; State Commissioner for Education, Science and Technology, Pastor Femi Agagu; State Commissioner for Agriculture, Otunba Gboyega Adefarati and the Chief of Staff to the Governor, Chief Olugbenga Ale.

Others are : Special Adviser to the Governor on Transport, Tobi Ogunleye, Esq. and the Special Adviser to the Governor on  Lands, Works and Infrastructure, Engineer  Aminu Raimi Olayiwola.