The First Lady of Ondo State, Arabinrin Betty-Anyanwu Akeredolu will on Tuesday, December 10th receive the prestigious Platinum Award from Africa’s oldest surviving private Nigerian Newspaper, The Nigerian Tribune at an elaborate event scheduled to take placed at MUSON Hall, Lagos.

The award which is in recognition of her numerous contribution towards women development, girl child skill empowerment as well as her passion to build a healthier world through her numerous initiaves among others, is in commemoration of the 70th anniversary of the African Newspapers of Nigeria (ANN), the publishers of Nigerian Tribune Newspaper to reward Nigerians who have distinguished themselves in public service and nation building.

The nomination letter reads: “Mrs Betty Anyanwu-Akeredolu is not a feminist, but a humanist. She is motivated by the desire to make life better for the other person irrespective of their gender. Having survived breast cancer, she resolved to help as many people as possible to survive the dreaded ailment. This led to the establishment of Breast Cancer Associations of Nigeria (BRECAN), a leading NGO that is galvanising action against breast cancer in Nigeria through public education, patient support, advocacy and research.
She also established the Betty Anyanwu-Akeredolu Foundation (BAAF) through which she has been able to touch many lives and bring succor to less privileged. An ardent promoter of literacy, the wife of Ondo State governor, Mr Rotimi Akeredolu, has come up with programmes such as Reading is Fun, Essay Competition and Spelling Bee Competition to stimulate young people’s interest in education”:

Mrs. Akeredolu among others have initiated BEMORE Boot camp, Summer Tennis Clinic and FOWOSO to advance the economic status of women, nurture the interest of young girls in ICT and solar energy technology in order to bridge gender gap in ICT among others.

Other awardees include, Central Bank of Nigeria (CBN) Governor, Mr. Godwin Emefiele, Dr. Mike Adenuga Jr., Governors, Aminu Tambuwal, Ifeanyi Okowa, Godwin Obaseki, Samuel Ortom and Seyi Makinde. Prince Olasunsoye Oyinlola, Imam Abubakar Abdullahi, Senator Godswill Akpabio, Ibikunle Amosun and Abiola Ajimobi.

Story credit: Oluwatobiloba Fademi