Home Academics Make Basic Education impactful, Gov. Akeredolu advises SUBEB, Education Secretaries

Make Basic Education impactful, Gov. Akeredolu advises SUBEB, Education Secretaries

by ondoevents
0 comment

The Ondo State Governor, Arakunrin Oluwarotimi Akeredolu, SAN, has  stressed the importance of education to every child in order to improve their lives and the society at large.

Speaking at the inauguration of the board of Ondo State Universal Basic Education Board, SUBEB, and Education Secretaries  for the 18 Local Government Areas in the state, Governor Akeredolu said training of children was greatly beneficial not only to individual development but also to the society.

“Acquisition of knowledge is important because we are convinced of the value of education.

“Education defined the quality of human existence. The development of any society is anchored on steady and clear headed principle of applying knowledge to solve socio-economic problems,” the governor said.

Arakunrin Akeredolu maintained that SUBEB has the statutory responsibility of administering the Basic Education Programme and Policies of Government in the State, in line with the UBE Act of 2014, in consonance with the Federal Government’s strategic response to the global Education for All ,EFA, and the Sustainable  Development Goals, SDGs.

He added that SUBEB has the mandate to oversee the execution of Early Childcare Development and Education; Six Years of Primary Education and Three Years of Junior Secondary Education.

“In line with the law establishing the Board, a full time Chairman has been appointed to be supported by two full time members, Ex-officio members, representing the three Senatorial Districts and other Board members.

“They have been selected, carefully, based on their impeccable track records in previous appointments and their pedigree as patriots. This is in accordance with our determination to put round pegs in round holes. Our decision is always based on the overall objective of ensuring that the welfare of our people is given highest consideration at all times.

“Our determination to revamp the educational sector stems from the desire to put a stop to the declining standard in quality of primary education in Ondo State.

“We will, to the best of our ability, ensure that education receives the necessary attention. This is the only realistic way through which our quest for technological development can be considered seriously”, he said.

Governor Akeredolu, who said the state government would not tolerate frivolities, enjoined the new appointees to resist all overtures that could put the goals of his administration in jeopardy promising that the board would be monitored with keen interest.

“We, will continue to engage all sectors, insisting on best practices in the discharge of our mandate to serve the people. We will remain resolute and focused.

“We will not be distracted by issues extraneous to the well being of the mass of the people. Their welfare shall continue to be the guiding principle of our administration”, he stated.

Responding on behalf of members of the Board and Education Secretaries, the board chairman, Princess Oladunni Odu, thanked Governor Akeredolu for the privilege given them to serve.

She assured the governor of their 100% loyalty, adding that they would serve the government and people of the state in truth and honesty.

“We will not compromise the confidence which you have reposed in us and we will as well, contribute our quotas towards the development of education in the state.

Other members of the Board include Princess Olufunmilayo Brown, fulltime member 1, Mr Tayo Isaac Fayanju, fulltime member 2.

Others are Ex-officio members representing the three Senatorial Districts of the state, Augustine Oloruntogbe, North; Adebiyi Ayanuola ,Central and Adenikinju George, South respectively.

Other members of the board are Alhaji Omoloja Abimbola, PTA, Comrade Victor Oladele Amoko ,NUT and Mrs Ronke Ojo, Women groups.

Also inaugurated as Education Secretaries for the 18 Local Government Areas are Mr. J.M Oredola ,Ose; Ajibola Adegoroye, Owo; Mr. Femi Kure, Akoko South East; Mr. Gbenga Omolola, Akoko South West; Mr. Niyi Oseni, Akoko North East; Mrs. Folakemi Ogunsile Akoko North West; and Mr. Isaac Adu, Akure South.

Others are: Mr. Samuel Olowere, Akure North; Mr. Ojo Alalabiaye, Idanre;  Mr. Taye Adegbamigbe, Ifedore; Mr. Mathew Maroof Bada Ondo West; Mr.Ola Feyide, Ondo East; Mr. J.O Ojigi, Ese Ondo;  Mr. Olamigoke Jatuwase, Ilaje;  Mr. Sunday Oyepitan, Okitipupa; Mr. Joshua Adebusoye, Irele;  Mr. Charlse Meroyi, Odigbo, and Mrs. Bukky  Abike Oluderu, Ile-Oluji/ Okeigbo.

You may also like

Leave a Comment