Five lawmakers of the Ondo State House of Assembly, have defected from the People’s Democratic Party, PDP, to the All Progressives Congress, APC.

With the defection,  the APC now has eighteen out of the twenty-six member house legislature.

Consequently, APC has now attained two-third majority of the legislative chamber.

The legislators are the immediate former Deputy Speaker, Hon. Fatai Olotu from  Akoko North East;  Hon. Akinyele Fasogbon from Odigbo II and  Hon.Kuti Towase from Akoko South East

Others are Hon.Abimbola Fajolu from Ileoluji/Okeigbo Constituency and Hon. Tuyi Akintimehin from Idanre.

Addressing the defectors, the Ondo State Governor, Arakunrin Oluwarotimi Akeredolu, SAN, commended them for the bold steps taken in the interest of the state which according to him will enhance good governance.

Governor Akeredolu however implored both new and old members of the APC in the house to be united as one without a thought about their past affiliations.

Arakunrin Akeredolu used the opportunity of the decampment ceremony to reiterate his commitment to the delivery of impartful governance for the advancement of Ondo State people.

Speaking on behalf of others, Hon. Fatai Olotu hinged their defection on the exceptional political  maturity displayed by Governor Akeredolu at resolving the crises that rocked the house at the tail end of ex-Governor Olusegun Mimiko administration.