The Ondo State Governor, Arakunrin Oluwarotimi Akeredolu, on Thursday, assured of scholarships for Ondo State students who excelled at the recently concluded National Junior Engineers, Technicians and Sciences (JETS) competition.

Akeredolu gave the assurance during the presentation of trophies won by students at the 20th edition of the JETS competition, in Akure.

He also assured that they would continue to monitor the progress of the students.

“This means a lot to the state and we owe you a lot of responsibility. I appeal to you not to rest on your oars, you have just started.

“Your futures are bright and you are in the science field that is most important in our quest for development.

“Not saying that humanities cannot be greater, but you are the ones to propel the economy of this country. The future of this state and Nigeria is in your hands,” he said.

Earlier, Mr Steve Awosika, Perm. Secretary, Ondo Ministry of Education, said the state had actively participated and won laurels in both national and international competitions, thus showcasing the government efforts in education sector.

He further said the ministry would leave no stone unturned in ensuring the development of science and technology education in Ondo State.

“I urge you to continue to support this administration in delivering the dividends of democracy to the people through the provision of functional education.

“Ondo belongs to us all so we should not relent in working together to propel the wheels of education to the greatest height in the state and nation at large.

“I congratulate these outstanding students for this feat and wish the state more success in future,” he said.

Responding on behalf of the students, Miss Mercy Akintade, Methodist High School Okitipupa, thanked the Governor for his promise.

She assured that they would never relent in their quests to pursuing a better Nigeria and a better Ondo State.

The seven students promised scholarships include Okoh Nicodemus, Adegbola Memorial Grammar School, Akure; Olalumade Ezekiel, Dominion Science Academy, Owo; Akingbulugbe Oluwatobiloba, Hallmark Secondary School, Ondo.

Others are Itakorode Oluwasegun, and Banji-Ojo Great, Model Secondary School, Akure; Mercy Akintade and Ogunsooto Kemisola, Methodist High School, Okitipupa.

Awards are 12 trophies, 10 gold medals, one silver medal, five bronze medals, and cash prizes.