Osagie Ize-Iyamu has emerged the winner of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) governorship primary election in Edo State.

Osagie Ize-Iyamu
Osagie Ize-Iyamu

Iyamu won a total of 584 votes to emerge winner, beating his closest rival, Matthew Iduoriyekemwen, who scored 91 votes to take the second place. Solomon Edebiri scored 38 votes to emerge third.

The primary election to decide PDP’s contender in the September 10 poll was held on Monday at the Lawn Tennis Court of the Samuel Ogbemudia Stadium in Benin City, the Edo State capital in south-south Nigeria.

The victory of Ize-Iyamu will pitch him against the candidate of the ruling All Progressive Congress, Godwin Obaseki, in the September 10 governorship election as the two biggest candidates.

Godwin Obaseki won the APC ticket on Sunday.