Home NewsOndo State News Don’t be tired preaching peace, Akeredolu urges NIREC

Don’t be tired preaching peace, Akeredolu urges NIREC

by ondoevents
0 comment

Governor Oluwarotimi Akeredolu on Monday, June 3, 2019, inaugurated the newly constituted members of the Ondo State chapter of the Nigeria Inter-Religious Council (NIREC), urging them not to be tired in preaching peace.
NIREC is an association of representatives of Christianity and Islam in Nigeria whose main objective is to promote inter-religious harmony in the country.
While inaugurating NIREC at the Governor’s Office in Akure, Akeredolu commended the Council for its firm support and belief in the state government.
He particularly lauded the Council for playing significant roles by complementing the state government’s efforts in maintaining peace and harmony.
The governor added that the Council’s support for the government had helped in resolving conflict to restore peace.
Governor Akeredolu, who recalled that Nigeria had been witnessing a downturn in the welfare and overall well-being of the citizens due to increasing social responsibilities of governance and a drop in the country’s revenue base, tasked the religious leaders not to relent in their intervention in putting smile on the faces of distressed families, orphans, vulnerable children, widows and widowers, among others.
He said: “I specifically task you to work assiduously for the sustenance of religious harmony and peace in the state.
“You must serve as an avenue for entrenching cordial relationship among the various religions as well as between them and the government to promote moral, ethical and cultural values of the two faiths for the re-birth and re-building of a better society.’
Members of the Ondo State chapter of NIREC are: Rev. John Ayo Oladapo, Rev. Agboola Raphael Ayodeji,, Mr. Rotji Nyokke, Rev. Fr. Anslem Ologunwa, Bishop Abayomi Adegbite, Rev. S. A. Adebayo, Prophet Dr. Z.B Adeboriota, Primate Sunday Ojuolape, Alhaji Khaleel Fawehinmi, Alhaji Abibu Akinpelumi, Alhaji Basiru Alimi, Alhaji Akeem Akorede, Alhaji Yekini Alli, Alhaji A. O. Aladesawe, Abass Abubakre Mohammed, Alhaji Abdul Kareem Aminu.

You may also like

Leave a Comment