Ondo State Governor, Arakunrin Oluwarotimi Akeredolu SAN, and the Deputy Governor-Elect, Hon. Lucky Orimisan Aiyedatiwa have received their Certificates of Return from the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) on Tuesday.

INEC had declared Governor Akeredolu winner of the October 10, 2020 Governorship Election having polled a total vote of 292,830 to defeat his closest rival, Eyitayo Jegede SAN, who polled 195,791 votes.

The Governor and the Deputy Governor-Elect were accompanied to the INEC office by their wives and party leaders across the state.

In his acceptance speech, Governor Akeredolu assured the people of the state that his administration will ensure equal development in all the 18 local government areas of the state.

The Governor said:”Whether they voted for me or not, we will treat all the local government areas of the state equally.”

Governor Akeredolu stressed that the last Saturday’s victory at the election belong to the people of the state.

He noted that the victory recorded has established a number of things for the generation to come, adding that a statement has been made.

“It’s a victory that a few things have been established for the generations to come. We have made a statement. No one has ever won with 50 percent. We won with over 51%.“

“Our re-election was a divine project. I want to assure the people that we will serve them in way that they have never seen before.“He stressed.

While commending INEC for the successful conduct of the election, Governor Akeredolu said the state noted and appreciated the commitment of INEC to free, fair and credible election.

He said the APC worldwide is happy over the result of the election. The Governor thanked all security agencies for their conduct before, during and after the election.

The Chairman of INEC, represented by the Supervising National Commissioner, Dr. Adekunle Ladipo Ogunmola noted that the election was highly successful.

He assured that INEC was committed to deepening democracy in the country while giving kudos to the people of the state for a peaceful election.