Home Academics 5 students get Ajasin Scholarship awards

5 students get Ajasin Scholarship awards

by ondoevents
0 comment

Five students of Owo High School, Owo in Owo council area of Ondo State who have performed brilliantly well in their academics had been awarded scholarship by the Ajasin Foundation, last Tuesday.

The Adekunle Ajasin Memorial Scholarship (AAMS) was set up by an old student of Owo High School currently residing in the United States of America (U.S.A), Dr. Bode Ogunleye in memory of the formal Principal of the school, late Adekunle Micheal Ajasin.

The second edition of the scholarship which is being administered by the Ajasin Foundation, honoured the deserving students with a certificate, cash prizes and Ajasin Scholar’s pin.

The five Best Students that got the scholarship awards are; Salaudeen Raimot (JSS 2), Alfred Funmilayo (JSS 3), Lawrence Israel (SSS 1), Adetula Lekan (SSS 2) and Fadairo Olarenwaju (SSS 3).

At the presentation ceremony hosted by the school principal, Chief Adekunle Aladeseye before a large crowd of students, teachers, parents, old students, community representatives and members of Ajasin Foundation to round up the First term academic session, the principal hailed the good gesture of the initiator of the scholarship award and the glowing memory of late Adekunle Ajasin.

Aladeseye appreciated the Ajasin Foundation for the rare initiative to consciously honour deserving wards of the school by giving out awards and prizes to somewhat encourage and inspire other students to achieve similar or greater feat in life.

He urged other old students of the school who are doing well in their chosen careers to follow the foot step of Dr. Bode Ogunleye and come to the aid of their alma-matar in assisting the growing population of students which he said has hit over 2,500.

Presenting the awards to the students on behalf of Ajasin Foundation, the Secretary of the Foundation, Mrs. Jumoke Anifowose congratulated the awardees and their parents, stressing that they should not rest n their oars and continue to excel and not drop from the overall best performing students in their different classes.

“I am surprised that the recipients of last year awards are not the same set of students this year. Awardees should not make it nce and for all affair but should try to continue and be the best always.

“I wish to add that an annual award of N100,000. goes to the best graduating student upon admission into. A. Post secondary institution for study leading to the award of a degree. The award is renewable yearly as long as the awardee maintains an academic performance of not lower than a second upper class.” Mrs. Anifowose stated.

Seven teachers of the school also got the Principal awards and certificates which inlcuded; Best corps member, Femi Ogunsola; best P.T.A teacher, Mr. Tope Ojo; Mrs. Oluwajobi R.T, Mr. Tenabe C.T, Mr. Aladekoyi O.G, Mr. Ologunye O.K and Mr. Arogundade Segun.

Present at the award ceremony included; a member of Ajasin Foundation, Mrs. Waleola Okunrinboye, national president of Owo High School old students association, Rev. Canon Oladimeji and Chief Okunrinboye.

You may also like

Leave a Comment