Ondo State News

Ondo Gets Committee On Legislative, Judicial Autonomy

Ondo State governor, Arakunrin Oluwarotimi Akeredolu, SAN, has constituted an 11 – member committee to work out the modality for the implementation of the autonomy for the legislative and judicial arms of the state government.

The committee is chaired by the Commissioner for Economic Planning and Budget, Mr. Emmanuel Igbasan.

Members are a representative of the Speaker, House of Assembly;
Representative of the Chief Judge of the State;
Representative of President of the Customary Court of Appeal;
Chairman, House of Assembly Committee on Finances and Appropriation;
Commissioner for Finance;
Attorney-General and Commissioner for Justice;
Clerk of the State House of Assembly;
Chief Registrar of High Court;
Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Economic Planning and Budget; and Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Finance, whose responsibility is to serve as the committee’s secretary.

The committee’s terms of reference include the following: to assess implementation status of the financial autonomy for the state’s legislative and judicial arms of government; to determine the framework for the implementation of the autonomy at the state level; to determine the commencement time for the implementation; and to advise on any other matter(s) incidental to or connected with the implementation process of the Law in Ondo State.

The committee has four weeks to submit its report.

Show More

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

* Copy This Password *

* Type Or Paste Password Here *